FreeWrite: What is the World Coming To?

I had just spent some time on the Explore section of Instagram. Good LAWD (as an old co-worker of mine would write)! Really, though what is this world coming to?

A 7-yr-old rapping along to a hip-hop song flashing a wad of cash. A 19-yr-old who crochets croptops and sells them online. Mirror selfies of a woman showing off her behind. A mother-of-3 dancing and promoting her exercise group. And…a mom-of-2 exploring Instagram as her two daughters play with their toys in the other room with Toy Story 3 playing in the background.

(Big Sigh)

I feel scared, again. I am scared of the world my kids may be growing up in outside of our family’s watch. I am scared of who they may become friends with. Even scarier, who they become not-friends with. And what these not-friends can do to them. (Someone stop me!!)

Okay. (Pause, my daughter is asking me to check the living room. She may have cleaned it up so she can play on the computer. BRB.)

(I was right. Currently, the girls are playing on their deVices) (SMH to myself, but what’s a mom to do?)

Past = Tears; Future = Fears; Present = Cheers! If I had a drink, I would. ๐Ÿ™‚

Hmmm…I turn 28 tomorrow. Or more like in about 10ย minutes. I’m sure you hear and read it a lot. 28. I feel so much older. But for my Past-28 Readers, I know I’m still young. For my four-year-old, I’m “old.” Age is relative. I’m truly content with my age, actually. Hmmm… I don’t know where I’m going with this…thus the Free Write. ๐Ÿ™‚

I watched Big Fish today. This movie is definitely in my Fave Movies List. The story is just so playful, whimsical, but holds so much truth. My heart, though, lies in the Father-Son relationship. Gets me every time. I wished we’d all just live out our fairytale lives. ๐Ÿ™‚

Tomorrow I plan on going for a run. Donating some blood. Doing some writing. Having some Chicken Delight. Having dinner with my family. Going to Church. Maybe having some drinks with friends (or whoever may be available) somewhere. But as I write this out, this all seems to be dependent on my mood tomorrow. Hoping it’s gonna be a bright day!

Hmmm…going back to what has this world come to? Maybe it’s just…being. Maybe it isn’t that bad. Maybe it’s me who’s looking at it that way. Maybe people are just being people. And as God has taught us we are all his Creations. We are all his Children. So that means in God’s eyes we are all siblings trying to live. Period.

We shouldn’t forget to share. We shouldn’t forget that we don’t get everything we ask for and if we want it that bad to figure out a way to get it but of course not by hurting others. We shouldn’t forget to care for one another. To love one another. To try not to fight. To play nicely. And we should always remember what makes us Happy (and if hurting others or destroying things brings you euphoria, uh….you might be in the wrong place right now). Being happy…remember where that is and what that is and try to keep it close to you.

As Ellen says it “Be kind to one another” and as StyleNSoul says it “We’re in this together” and as I like to say it, “Be thankful for the Gift of Today. Be Thankful for the Gift of Life.”

So…that being written…

I am so thankful for the gift of Today. I am so thankful for the gift of Life.

ย 

NO MORE FEAR! NO MORE FEAR! NO MORE FEAR! (Actually, it’s okay to have a little bit, lol!) :),

Jen J. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

